Birthday Cupcakes!

Happy St David’s day!!

imageMiss CT is a fellow Glade Dweller and was 9 years old yesterday!To help her celebrate we sent her 12 of these Vanilla Cupcakes.

I made them from an ‘all in one easy peasy sponge cake’ recipe. The secret is to weigh the eggs in their shells and match that weight with rest of the ingredients. Then it doesn’t matter what size eggs you use as long as the rest of ingredients match.imageI used three  eggs to make these cupcakes and they weighed 195g. Three eggs makes about 48 cakes and gives a lovely, light texture. Just to clarify, the picture above has a different topping because I used different sprinkles  because I got so many cakes from the mixture 😉

Ingredients

Cake

3 eggs at room temperature,  match their weight with;

Self Raising

Flour

Sugar

Butter at room temperature

1 teaspoon of Baking Powder

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Frosting

125g Butter at room temperature

250g Icing Sugar

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

A few drop of any colouring you might want to add

Method

Pre heat oven to 170 degrees

Place all the cake ingredients in a bowl and beat together until light and fluffy

Fill cupcake cases to about 3/4 full

Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean

Leave to cool on wire rack

To make the frosting;

Beat the butter, icing sugar ,vanilla extract and any colouring you might want to add together until light and fluffy

Use a palette knife to spread the frosting on top of the cupcakes

Enjoy!

Happy Birthday Miss CT xxx

9 thoughts on “Birthday Cupcakes!

  1. What an utterly lovely blog you have! I am following forthwith. I am originally from Liverpool (Aintree) but we used to often go to Thurstaston for walks. I remember visiting Park Gate & I had my first holiday away from my family with a friend in a caravan in the Country Park. We also lived in Milton Keynes for 18 years. We now live in France – and love it – but I could be tempted back to live in your neck of the woods. I made scouse for Global Scouse Day and shared it with lots of French people! There is no record of what they thought of it!!

    Like

    1. Hello, thank you so much for such a lovely comment, I really do appreciate it. Whenever I post the ‘out and about things’ from now on I will have you in mind, I sincerely hope they are evoking happy memories. I am posting the recipes in the hope that my student daughter might be inspired! If you are on twitter, there is a great account @AngelJCake that features old pictures of Liverpool, they are fantastic. Thank you again and have a lovely rest of your Sunday x

      Like

  2. These look lovely! I have such a sweet tooth it is a good job I can’t /won’t bake!! Happy Birthday Miss CT!

    Like

    1. Haha!! It can be difficult sometimes that is why I give so much away because I have a child like sweet tooth. But it is, without a doubt, one of my de-stressors, that’s probably why I do so much of it x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I always forget to weigh the eggs in their shells so this probably explains why my cakes never look as good as these!

    Like

    1. Oh no I am sure they do! It is so much easier to weigh them then you can just throw everything in together, who has time for all that cream together the sugar and butter business? Not me and I am sure not you. Thank you for your comment Katy and good luck with your next batch x

      Like

Leave a comment