Five on Friday!

Its been a funny week here on The Glade and, I for one,  am so ready for the weekend.

My Five on Friday seem to  mostly reflect my need for comfort this week.

It is definitely chiller and darker around here now.

Here are five things that have irked and pleased me in equal measures this week.

One

image

The leaves have started to fall off the trees around the Chapel this week.

It looks so autumn and pretty.

For those of you who don’t know, the Chapel is opposite our house and is supposed to be our community centre.

However, we have lived in the house for 16 months now and not a tap of work has been done on it by the builders.

It remains boarded up and deemed unsafe.

This is very disappointing because the Chapel was a part of the deal when we bought our houses..

We were all sold the idea that the residents on this development would have exclusive use of the Chapel.

Alas, we remain locked out – it really is a poor show by the builders.

Two

image

The spiders have been busy all over The Glade this week.

These spectacular webs have appeared all over the place, don’t you think it looks very Halloween like?

Three

image

We have had slow cooker dinners almost every night this week.

It is such a great way to cook, throw everything in and come home to a lovely hot dinner.

I do tons of things in my slow cooker from lasagna to crumbles to mulled wine.

In fact, although I already have two, I invested in another this week. I am sure I will get lots of use out of all three.

The recipe for the sausage casserole that is cooking in the picture came from Lucy BakingQueen74‘s blog.

Honestly, if you are looking for inspiration, pop over to visit her, she is fab!

Four

image

I have been burning this candle all week.

It is gorgeous and does smell very summery. It is as good as my usual expensive brand.

However, this little beauty only cost £1.49 – an absolute bargain!

Five

image

When we were taking Jack for a run yesterday, we were rewarded by this magnificent sunset.

Isn’t it a beauty?

image

image

Thank you to Amy & Stevie for hosting xx

Have a wonderful weekend!!!

39 thoughts on “Five on Friday!

  1. How disappointing about the chapel – not good at all! Is there anyone ‘higher up’ you can all approach about this?
    Great shot of the cobweb and yes very halloween-y as you say haha.
    Loving your much cheaper candle too – fab. I almost always have a candle or two lit in the evenings and now more so than ever with the evenings drawing in.
    A lovely snapshot of your week Lisa.
    Sammy xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly we have tried to escalate it but the truth is, they have our money now and don’t want to spend any on the chapel. It’s very disappointing though. Oh the candle was such a bargain, it’s still going strong tonight. Thanks Sammy xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The spider is certainly halloween like, what a shame about the chapel being borded up when it could be in use for many things for the local community, I hope something is sorted soon. The sunset is gorgeous:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the sunset and the chapel, it’s still nice from the outside! Had a bit of trouble following your link today as it took me back to Amy’s. Have a good week x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is a shame about the chapel but what a beautiful view from your house. I love the tower on the side of it and imagine Rapunzel letting down her golden hair from the window at the top.
    I like scented candles but struggle to find ones that have a noticeable fragrance. I’ve changed to melts (smelts). The wax scented shapes you put in an oil burner. Juicy Couture is my favourite.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Chapel is lovely what a shame it’s in disrepair I hope something can be done about it. I remember last year my whole garden was covered in spiders webs I think they look amazing, beautiful sunset, have a great weekend. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful sunset! I do hope that things get sorted with the chapel, you might find it useful to speak to the council that gave the planning permission and see what is happening. The sausage casserole looks delicious, perfect food for this time of year! Thank you for joining Five On Friday. I hope that you have a great weekend! xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, a listed building, this may be why the developers have gone quiet. Everything thats done to the building has strict controls over materials used and making sure its in keeping with original materials, I think anyway. Probably the council passing on responsibility (or passing the book) when the developers were given planning permission, making it a condition that the developers took on the responsibility for a listed building instead of the council.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. What a beautiful sunset photo! I hope they get around to the chapel for you at some point as it sounds like it could be fun! I love this time of year when it’s colder but not freezing and you can start doing more homely filling dinners 🙂 I now so want a slow cooker!
    Thanks for linking up to #PicknMix
    Stevie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Lisa! Good to see the sunset from your corner of the world! Very pretty as are the webs – they’re amazing! I need to use my slow cooker more – dinner sounds good in it again so I shall look for more recipes!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa that is such a shame as the chapel is so so pretty as are those cobwebs, I cant stand spiders but the webs are so pretty x

    Like

  10. Beautiful sunset! And the slow cooker recipe looks lovely! That’s going on my meal planner now! I’m not a fan of spiders (ugh no!!) but I do like spiderwebs. They’re so pretty when covered in dew. Can you not contact the builders about the chapel? Are they not in breach of a covenant?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

