Tea bread

image

 

When I was baking for the party last week, I decided quite late on that I wanted to make a fruit cake or two  for the adults, although that said, Miss Glade loves a slice herself!

I confess that I usually throw the ingredients in, mix and bake, it mostly turns out ok. This time I measured everything because I knew I would want to share it.

Orange marmalade is included in my tea bread recipe because it makes it so lovely and moist. I copied the idea from a fruit cake recipe that was printed in a book about The Archers that I was given a long time ago. I always include it now and I think it makes a real difference.

This cake will keep for days in an airtight container, given half a chance!

Ingredients

250g dried fruit

1/4 litre of strong cold tea

225g self raising flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon mixed spice

75g granulated sugar

2 table spoons of orange marmalade

Method 

1. Soak the fruit in the tea until most of the liquid has been absorbed. I find overnight is best.

2. Pre heat oven to 170ºC and line a 2lb loaf tin.

3. Add flour, baking powder, mixed spice, sugar and marmalade to the cold tea and fruit.

4. Mix until it is all well combined.

5. Pour it all into the tin and bake for about 1hr but keep checking after about 50 minutes. It’s ready when you insert a toothpick and it comes out clean.

6. Enjoy!

 

I am linking this post to Honest Mum’s Tasty Tuesday on a Wednesday because that is how I sometimes roll ha!

 

image

 

Have a lovely day!

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Tea bread

  1. I remember that teabread was the first thing I ever made in my cookery lessons as school. My mum, being Irish, had her own version called ‘Barmbrack’ so I was intrigued by the idea of soaking fruit in a cup of tea. I just may have to try this again – after a 35 year gap! Thanks for sharing, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do you know Judy, I actually think of it as Brack too, to be served at Hallowe’en ha! I love it and it’s so easy so make it whenever the occasion calls for it. Hope you enjoy it, thanks for commenting, have a lovely day xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

