Five on Friday

It’s  that time of the week again already!

I am going to try to link up with Amy from Love Made My Home for Five on Friday. What a great blog hop this is, it is so interesting visiting everyone else’s blog to see what their choices are.

Without further adieu;

One

image

The Weather has been interesting on the Wirral this week. At the beginning of the week it was bitterly cold and snow was forecast, we did have the odd flurry but it didn’t stick. Most days it went from a grey start like that you can see in this picture of the River Mersey above, to crystal clear blue skies by the afternoon. It definitely feels as though it has warmed up a bit now though.

Two

image

In view of the shivering temperature, my thoughts turned to sunnier climes when planning my menus. I made this delicious Moussaka Casserole, unusually for me, I always follow this recipe from Amuse Your Bouche exactly.  It did take us all back to our holiday on the beautiful island of Crete last year. If you are vegetarian or even just doing Meat Free Monday, you should check Becca’s blog out, failproof everytime!

Three 123rf,dreamstime,canstock,fotolia,shutterstock,bigstock,alamy,istock

I have just realised that I seem to be on a bit of a “I need to be warmer” roll ha!  So still with sunnier climes in mind, we have booked our flights for our summer holidays. We are off to mainland Spain but not until July, but at least it is something to look forward to. Our older daughter is coming with us too and we will be away to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary :0

Four


We had an unexpected visit home from said daughter. She came to eat dinner and sleep then went back to uni on the first train out of here the next morning. I am nothing if not flexible, so changed my plans to whip up a Butternut and Sage Risotto because it’s one of her favourites. When I sent a text making the suggestion and she replied ‘It is like music to my ears’, I knew I was onto a winner.

I also threw a quick lemon cake in the oven because the recipe is so easy. I  used this one but put it in two sandwich tins instead of paper cases. I added Lemon extract to the mix and lemon curd to the two halves before the cream was smeared all over – mmm…… I could eat it now!

Five

image

There is a field behind Eastham Woods that Jack and I have been making the most of this week. It is very popular with dogs and their humans. It is one of Jack’s favourite places because he loves the company of other dogs and often they outnumber the humans here – dog heaven!

image

 

That is it for this week!  Finger’s crossed for the link – it seemed to work last week!

Have a lovely day x

 

18 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. Hello Lisa
    Lovely to meet you at Amy’s Five on Friday.
    I loved all your fives – so special to have your daughter home for a night!
    We are travelling to France in June to see our daughter and three granddaughters – can’t wait!
    We are going to Ireland first for a week, so I’m assuming when we arrive in the UK near Liverpool we will be somewhere near you! We will travel down to London for a few days and then get the Eurostar to Paris.
    Have a happy weekend
    Shane

    Like

    1. Hi Shane,
      I have just visited you! Love those roses. Yes you will probably pass over our house if you fly from Ireland to Liverpool, we are on that flight path but funnily enough we aren’t bothered by the planes at all. Oh Ireland and then France, two fantastic places, I look forward to reading all about them on your blog! Ah I bet you can’t wait to see your grandchildren, they grow so quickly don’t they. Thank you for popping by, have a lovely weekend x

      Like

  2. Oh yes I know EXACTLY what you mean about lusting after sunnier climes! I’ve just booked a mini trip to Amsterdam to see the eldest but would love to go out to Spain (our regular haunt) very soon! We have a significant wedding anniversary this year too!!! Have a lovely weekend x

    Like

    1. Now Amsterdam is much more glam than Manchester where ours is ha! She has booked a trip to Amsterdam herself for May and can’t wait either, she tells me she is going for the Anne Frank museum! Oh how funny that you have one of those wedding anniversaries this year too – one of those that usually only happen to old people!?! I love Spain and booked our flights quickly when himself started thinking about All Inclusives in the back and beyond, we know what we are getting in Spain and I love it! Have a great weekend x

      Like

    1. You are very welcome! I didn’t let you know because I have only just started and so was a bit shy! I wish I lived nearer though to go to your Supper Club – I hope it goes well, I am sure it will. Thanks Becca, have a lovely weekend xx

      Like

  3. All the food looks so yummy, makes me hungry! I could eat that lemon cake now too! I’m a winter girl but even I’m looking forward to the warmer weather now! Eastham woods is one of my favourite places to be, love to take our boys there xx

    Like

    1. Hi Hayley,
      Oh that’s exciting, I didn’t realise you lived that near. You will have to pop in for cake next time! The lemon cake was demolished before it was even an hour old, it never lasts long in this house! Thank you for popping by! Have a lovely weekend X

      Like

    1. Ha! Hello Sara, I have been rumbled,I hate flying and just could not bring myself to put a picture of a real plane on! But we do live on a flight path, so I have no excuse really except that is a much nicer picture. Thank you and you have a lovely weekend too x

      Like

  4. What a beautiful shot of the river. We’re getting sunshine here today (thankfully), but it’s deceiving us to thinking it’s lovely springtime weather out there! What a nice treat to have your daughter come in for a quick visit. Mom’s always know the best things to make them 😉 A trip to Spain would do me perfectly right about now, when our winter just won’t quit, but Spring is in full force over there.
    Wendy

    Like

    1. Hi Wendy,
      It is beautiful down by the river most days and when it’s grey and misty, it has a really eerie atmosphere. I don’t think my amateur photography captured that though. I think you have had it much colder than us, we just like to complain about it more ha! At least we do have the first signs of spring, I hope you don’t have to wait much longer. Have a lovely weekend x

      Like

  5. Hi! That risotto and lemon cake look very inviting and the moussaka too. A really great meal for your daughter to come home too..The weather here has been changeable too especially around Monday and Tuesday. I’ve heard that it will be lovely this weekend- I hope so!..The park looks like a great spot for Jack to hang out with other dogs–dog heaven indeed!

    Like

    1. Hello Marion, happy birthday!! I tried to leave you a comment earlier but I think google was playing up. She did enjoy the Risotto, I suppose there is nothing like free food when you are looking after yourself ha! I hope you do have lovely weather this weekend, then you can extend your birthday. By the way I loved your bunting! Enjoy the rest of your special day xx

      Like

  6. Yep, the link worked!!! I am hoping – hoping!! – to do a tutorial soon for people who aren’t sure so if you do have any questions, might be worth a quick look. Great five things! Especially you being so lovely and cooking your daughters favourite dinner, I love risotto and squash, so I am sure that it would be a favourite for me too!! I hope that you have a wonderful time in Spain and a great special anniversary too!! Thank you so much for joining in, I hope that you have a great weekend! xx

    Like

    1. Hi Amy, It’s my techno fear that makes me worry about linking up! I must stop panicking!! Thank you for popping by I can’t believe you visit everyone. Butternut squash is delicious, we have in in all sorts being vegetarians. Thanks again for hosting and have a lovely weekend x

      Like

  7. I enjoyed reading your 5 it’s great fun reading everyone’s 5 posts. Your moussaka looks yummy, I’m going to Spain too but I have to wait until September! Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Linda, it really is great fun reading what everyone chooses. It just makes me feel very up talented, is it difficult to crochet? I am amazed at the beautiful things that everyone produces. Spain is brilliant, we love it, September will soon be here! Have a lovely weekend x

      Like

Leave a Reply

